Orangey Beef Stir Fry Bento + New Blog!

Hello all! Long time no bento! I’ve been off the scene for a bit…an ever changing work schedule + winter blahs are not so great for creativity. Luckily, winter is receding. As one of my favorite bands, The Weakerthans, says in their song Elegy for Elsabet, “Winter dies the same way every spring.” And it’s true. The birds are singing, the trees are budding, and it’s raining cats and dogs right now. :p (BTW you should totally check out The Weakerthans if you are into indie rock at all. “Left and Leaving” is a terrific album.)

Anyway, I did manage to pull a bento together today. An orangy beef stir fry brimming with red peppers, broccoli, and onions is the star. I’ve also included teddy bear onigiri, shrimp gyoza, strawberries, baby carrots, a babybel cheese, and a Japanese milk sweet. The strawberries were really tart; they aren’t in season right now. (NOTHING is in season in my area right now!) The gyoza I bought from the sushi counter at my local grocery store. They are very good!

I also have new chopsticks! Bright green with maiko. I’ll have to get a better picture. They’re a gift from a friend. 🙂

Anyway, I have started a new blog, Kyoto Redbird. This blog focuses on culture, beauty, art, kimono, and how they all manage to tie together. I’m using it as a place to explore my own body likes and dislikes, my adventures in dressing an atypical body type, and how the Japanese aesthetic (less is more) makes me feel better about myself. Please check it out and feel free to comment! I’m hoping to get a lot of dialogue on this blog. 🙂
http://kyotoredbird.wordpress.com/

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hollie
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 22:16:28

    Ohh, yummy! Orange beef sounds excellent! We have some pretty good strawberries at my store right now, but awful nectarines. Good mangoes. Your lunch looks a lot healthier than mine! The onigiri are cute, are they filled with anything? Also, I’m intrigued by the milk sweet. What is a milk sweet?

    Your blog doesn’t email me anymore when you post new stuff, bad blog!

    Reply

    • katycrayon
      Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:19:48

      I can give you the recipe for the orange beef sometime; it’s super easy. It uses marmelade, of all things! The onigiri aren’t filled with anything, though I did season the rice with a little sushi vinegar and salt. It’s actually really yummy that way.

      I’ve had a few different “milk” flavored sweets from Japan (inclucing milk pocky). “Milk” flavor tastes a lot like vanilla yogurt. This one had almonds in it and the texture of a three-year-old tootsie roll. It tasted good but was pretty hard on my teeth. 😉

      Reply

      • Hollie
        Mar 17, 2011 @ 15:02:41

        Mmm, three year old tootsie rolls! I shouldn’t talk; I love peanut brittle even though I am definitely not allowed to have it. I’ll have to get that recipe, it sounds like something everyone here would eat. When its warmer I’ll bring vegetables from my garden and we’ll have to make a bento box picnic.
        I think onigiri filled with spicy shrimp would be good:)

  2. Bentobird/Jenn
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 22:30:17

    The orangey beef stir fry with abundant veggies evokes spring and brightness returning!

    Reply

  3. Ohayo Bento
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 11:02:23

    Yummy bento! Congrats on the new blog, can’t wait to check it out!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

